Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference adds Loras College for 2014 season
Tue, Sep. 11, 2012 - [Women's Lacrosse]



NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference (MWLC) administrators approved the addition of Loras College on Thursday.


Loras, located in Dubuque, Iowa, will begin MWLC play in the spring of 2014, giving the conference its seventh new member in the last year.


Augustana College, located in Rock Island, Ill., Aurora University, located in Aurora, Ill., and Benedictine University, located in Lisle, Ill., were approved as new MWLC members in the spring of 2011 and will begin conference play during the upcoming season.


Last fall, the conference also approved the addition of Beloit College, located in Beloit, Wis., the University of Dubuque, located in Dubuque, Iowa, and Elmhurst College, located in Elmhurst, Ill. Beloit will join Augustana, Aurora and Benedictine as new members in the spring of 2013, while Dubuque will join Loras in the spring of 2014. Elmhurst begins MWLC play in the spring of 2015. Founding members Adrian College, Albion College and Trine University departed the MWLC at the conclusion of the 2012 season as their multisport conference, the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association, added women's lacrosse as a conference sport.


"The Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference is very excited to be adding Loras," MWLC commissioner Chris Martin said. "The region has seen extensive growth in the sport of women's lacrosse, which has allowed our conference to grow significantly in recent years."


The Duhawks, coached by Emily Goetz, will field a women's lacrosse team for the first time in the spring of 2013 before joining the conference the following year.


The Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference was founded in 2010 and began play in the spring of 2011. It is currently composed of nine NCAA Division III colleges and universities located throughout the Midwest. Membership includes Augustana (Rock Island, Ill.), Aurora (Aurora, Ill.), Beloit (Beloit, Wis.), Benedictine (Lisle, Ill.), Carthage (Kenosha, Wis.), Concordia (Mequon, Wis.), Fontbonne (St. Louis, Mo.), Mount St. Joseph (Cincinnati, Ohio) and North Central (Naperville, Ill.).


Visit the league's website HERE