Wood wins IIAC title at 149-pounds, named Outstanding Wrestler
Wood became Loras' first Outstanding Wrestler since Rob Murray in 2000
Wood became Loras' first Outstanding Wrestler since Rob Murray in 2000
Fri, Feb. 24, 2012 - [Wrestling]

Ten Duhawks will try and earn spots in the 2012 NCAA Division III Championships at Eby Fieldhouse on Coe College's Campus today. You can follow the brackets throughout the day here, on the Loras College Facebook page, and on Twitter - @lorasathletics

Coverage of the tournament via the IIAC HERE - and starting bracket available HERE


Coe College Video available HERE


Loras College's Joe 'Barney' Wood wins 2012 Iowa Conference Tournament Outstanding Wrestler as the champion at 149-pounds. Wood is Loras' first title winner since Brad Bishop at 157-pounds in 2006. He is Loras' first Outstanding Wrestler since Rob Murray won the award in 2000 at 174-pounds. He qualifies for the 2012 NCAA Division III Championships on March 9-10, 2012 in LaCrosse, Wisconsin.


Wood wraps up 2011-12 regular season at 20-7.


"Barney wrestled his tail off all day," head coach Randy Steward said after the tournament.


"He was our hightest seed today and as a sophomore I'm really excited about not just what he did today, but what the future holds for him and our program."


"(He) had a chance to meet Rob Murray, who lives in Cedar Rapids now earlier in the day, which is kind of cool. They both have their spots in Loras wrestling history now, and I'm proud to have coached both of them."


125# - Pat Pfantz, #8


Quarterfinals- lost by fall to #1 Kenny Anderson/Wartburg in 2:36

Wrestlebacks- won by decision, 16-14, over #4 Andre Taylor/UD

Wrestlebacks- lost by decision, 5-3, to #3 Tim Hood/Cornell

5th place- won by decision, 4-3, over #7 Daniel Page/Central


133#- Matt Holmes, #4


Quarterfinals- won in OT over #5 Chris Sokol/Dubuque, 3-2

Semifinals- lost by decision, 4-0, to #1 Tom Mirocha/Wartburg

Wrestlebacks- lost by decision, 3-2, to #6 Evan Obert/Luther

5th place- won by decision, 5-0, over #5 Chris Sokol/Dubuque


141#- Christopher Reed, #9


Pigtail- lost by fall to #8 Steven Gutschenritter/BVU in 1:59

Wrestleback- lost by decision, 7-2, to #7 Spencer Courier/Simpson


149#- Joe Wood, #2


Quarterfinals- won by fall over #7 Josh Atwell/Central in 4:18

Semifinals- won in OT by decision, 5-4, over #3 Drew Wagenhoffer/Wartburg

Finals - won 7-6 over #1 James Locke/Coe


157#- Chris Gansen, #5


Quarterfinals- won by decision over #4 Joseph Atwell/Central, 7-2

Semifinals- lost a decision to #1 Dale Handley/Coe, 7-2

Wrestlebacks- won decision, 6-1, decision over #6 Derek Mizaur/Dubuque

3rd Place- lost decision, 9-2, to #4 Joseph Atwell/Central


165#- Mitch Gansen, #6


Quarterfinals- lost major decision to #3 Joseph Hambleton/Cornell, 11-1

Wrestleback- lost decision to #7 Cory Stratton/Simpson, 8-4

7th Place- medical forfeit (shoulder), finishes in 8th place


174#- Joe Butler, #6


Quarterfinals- lost major decision, 14-0, to #3 Logan Einerson/Dubuque

Wrestleback- lost decision, 4-2, to #7 Justin Bruce/Simpson

7th Place- won by fall over #9 Brent Hamm/Cornell


184#- Josh Kirkland, #7


Quarterfinals- lost decision, 2-1, to #2 Brian Broll/BVU

Wrestlebacks- won major decision, 10-0, over #8 Tim Manning/Dubuque

Wrestleback QF- won major decision, 13-2, over #6 Tyler Lowy/Central

3rd Place- lost in OT, 3-1, to #3 Ethan Ball/Coe


197#- Ryan Ward, #7


Quarterfinals- lost by fall to #2 Trent Flegel/Luther in 1:37

Wrestlebacks- won by decision, 11-5, over #8 Joe Klinkel/BVU

Wrestlebacks- lost decision, 6-3, to #6 Dan Gordon/Central

7th Place- lost by technical fall in second period to #9 Jared Bevins/Simpson


285#- Kyle Henry, #8


Pigtail- lost to #9 TonySaucedo/Simpson, 3-1 decision

Wrestlebacks- lost to #7 Jake Crawford/Central, 16-1 3rd period technical fall