Duhawks hand out in-house hardware
Thu, Feb. 23, 2012 - [Football]

Earlier this month the Loras College football team gathered on campus with family and friends of the program to look back at the 2011 season and hand out the team awards as part of their annual banquet.


A total of 12 team awards were handed out at the event which head coach Paul Mierkiewicz called "an important day for our program on a lot of levels."

Below is the list of award winners.



Offensive Lineman of the Year: Sam Ross

Offensive Back of the Year: Devin ‘Billy' Kass

Receiver of the Year: Gavin Kaiser

Offensive MVP: Gavin Kaiser



Defensive Lineman of the Year: Aaron Strong

Linebacker of the Year: Zach Myers

Defensive Back of the Year: Eric Meyer

Defensive MVP: Zach Myers


Special Teams

Special Teams Player of the Year: Eric Meyer


Lifter of the Year: David Zoeckler


Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Nick Nunley

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Joey Mateicka


"Each of these young men demonstrated over the course of the 2011 season that they had what it took to be successful on the football field in their own unique way," Mierkiewicz said.


"We were proud to hand out the awards to these Duhawks. We're also thankful to our senior class – who played such an important role on our 2011 team. We wish them the best, and look forward to what the future holds for those who return for us in 2012."


In addition to the awards being handed out, the Duhawks welcomed back to campus Roger Cummings ('89) to speak to the Duhawk football family. Cummings spoke for about 15 minutes to the audience of current Duhawks and their families.


His speech to the group was based on "Faith, Family, and Team". You can view the video at the team's FACEBOOK PAGE


The 2012 Loras College football schedule is available HERE


Homecoming 2012 is scheduled for September 28-30, when Simpson College will be in the Rock Bowl.