Duhawks close 2011-12 in win column
Mon, Feb. 20, 2012 - [Men's Basketball]

Loras 81, Simpson 76


The Loras College men's basketball team produced their fourth league win and seventh overall in their 2011-12 finale on Saturday evening. The Duhawks erased an 8-point halftime deficit and scored 48 second half points on their way to the road win.


A back-and-forth first half saw the lead change hands nine times between the Storm and Duhawks. Tim Kelly scored 10 of his 12 points in the first half on 4-of-10 shooting and seven other Duhawks made field goals during Loras' 12-of-32 (37.5%) opening frame.


Loras won the rebounding battle in the first half, but the host Storm only turned the ball over three times and used three field goals in the final 90 seconds of the first half to take their 41-33 lead into the locker room.


Loras' early long distance shooting in the second half helped them cut the Storm lead to 50-44 after the first five minutes had gone by. Simpson built another double digit lead before Taylor Baxter helped the Duhawks back within four points with a 3-pointer of his own. Aaron Schueller's three ball with four minutes to go had Loras down three points. Baxter made another basket to get Loras within one, and then Jordan Harrelson took to the 3-point arch to give Loras their first lead of the second half with three minutes to play.


Simpson's Elijah Knox made a pair of free throws with 2:18 and scored the final two points for the hosts. The Storm would miss their final three field goals and turn the ball over once as Dan Pawelski, Aaron Schueller, and Brian Gaughan scored the Duhawks' final seven unanswered points.


Loras shot 60% from the field in the second half and a matching 60% from long distance over the final 20 minutes in putting together their late surge and 48-point second half.


Individually, Gaughan led the way with 13 points, followed by 12 from Kelly, 11 for Schueller, and 10 apiece for Pawelski and Harrelson.


The win closed the books on the 2011-12 season at 7-18, 4-12 in the Iowa Conference.


It also marked the end of five Duhawk careers. Dan Pawelski, Zack Peterson, Brian Gaughan, Jordan Harrelson, and Tim Kelly won the final game of their careers on Saturday. They won 49 games over the last four seasons.