Pat "Flash" Flanagan Open in the books
Sun, Jan. 22, 2012 - [Wrestling]



Over 150 wrestlers took to the mats on Saturday in the Graber Sports Center for the annual Pat "Flash" Flanagan wrestling tournament. Ten champions were crowned and ten Duhawks set their sights on the field of wrestlers from junior colleges to NCAA Division I schools.


Andrew Hoerth was the lone Duhawk in the 125-pound bracket. He was pinned in the first period of his opening match, but answered with a pin of his own in his first wrestleback bout. Luther's Robert Patino ended Hoerth's day with a late pin. Cruse Aarhus of Northern Iowa won the bracket.


Matt Holmes and Brian Cullen represented the Duhawks in the 133-pound bracket. Cullen went 0-2 and Matt Holmes posted Loras' best results of the day. Holmes pinned his first opponent and took a closely contested 4-3 loss in his second match. In the wrestlebacks, he was on the winning side of a pair of close matches over Louis Mazzetta of Luther and Tanner Schmidt of Upper Iowa. After a default win, Holmes was in the third place match with Brad Jones of Luther. The entertaining match was tied 6-6 after regulation and Jones logged the sudden victory win, 8-6. Holmes was fourth following the loss.


Joe Colon of Northern Iowa won the bracket.


Sean Raddatz went 3-2 at 141-pounds. Raddatz won two decisions, lost a major decision in the championship bracket, and ended with a fall to Northern Iowa's Adam Perrin. Chris Reed went 1-2 in the same bracket. Reed lost his first match, defeated Luther's Spencer Garness, and lost his next match by major decision.


Josh Dziewa won the bracket.


No Duhawks entered the 149-pound bracket. Nicholas Drendel of Cornell won the bracket.


The Gossen's represented Loras at 157-pounds. Both Russ and Mike lost decisions in their opening bouts. Russ came up empty in the wrestlebacks, dropping another decision, 9-6. Mike did the same, 5-1. Dalton Brown (unattached) won the bracket.


Josh Porter won his first match of Gary Pape of Dubuque, 6-2 in his first 165-pound match. Taylor Berger of Northern Iowa pinned him in the first period of his second round match – and Porter defaulted without a wrestleback bout. Northern Iowa's Riley Banach won the bracket.


At 174 pounds, Northern Iowa's Cody Caldwell prevailed after going 4-0 with three pins and a major decision. No Duhawks took the mat at 174 pounds.  


Grant Miller of UW-LaCrosse won the 8-wrestler 184-pound bracket, another class without a Loras representative. He defeated teammate Tony Piechowski in the finals.


Ryan Ward went 1-1 in his first two championship bracket bouts at 197 pounds. He followed by going 2-2 in the wrestlebacks. His wins were a quick pin of his first opponent and a 3-1 win over Coe's Corey Becker. Ward took back-to-back decision losses to finish in sixth place.


Zach Strickland of UW-Lacrosse won the bracket.


Kyle Henry pinned Triton's Jason Dalessandro in the third period but then suffered a first period to pin to Wisconsin's Brock Horvath. Luther's Jake Johnson defeated him 2-0 in the wrestlebacks.


Blayne Beale of Northern Iowa won the heavyweight bracket.


Loras will have the week off as they prepare for the Iowa Conference duals on January 28th. Loras will wrestle Luther, Cornell, Central, and Buena Vista in Pella, Iowa. The Duhawk Open will be in the Graber Sports Center on February 4th.