League MVP Russell leads the Duhawks past Storm on AWC floor
Loras celebrates their semifinal win on Friday
Loras celebrates their semifinal win on Friday
Sat, Nov. 6, 2010 - [Women's Volleyball]

The #1 seed Loras College volleyball team advanced to the championship game of the 2010 Iowa Conference Tournament by knocking off #4 Simpson 3-1 on Friday night.

Prior to the match, Four Duhawks were recognized by the Iowa Conference for their efforts throughout the Iowa Conference season. Setter Julie Rogers and sophomore Regan Riley were each named to the Second Team All-IIAC squad. Brittney Westermeyer and Kate Russell were each named to the First Team All-IIAC squad. Russell was also named the IIAC's MVP prior to the match.

Once the action started on the court, the Simpson Storm built off the momentum of their win over Central earlier in the day and took set number one 25-19. But after that, the Duhawks regained the focus and execution that led to their regular season title by winning the next three sets 25-17, 25-21, and 25-18.

Kate Russell controlled the offense with a team high 16 kills and added five block assists. Kenzie Goedken and Regan Riley added 13 kills apiece to the win in front of the AWC crowd. Julie Rogers sent up 40 assists. Four Duhawk reached double digits in digs as well.

The win puts the Duhawks into the IIAC title game at 2:00 PM in the AWC. They will take on the #3 Wartburg College Knights - who defeated both #6 Luther and #2 Cornell on Friday in the AWC.

First serve is at 2:00 PM in the Athletic and Wellness Center. The Duhawks won a thrilling five-setter in Waverly back on September 22. Saturday's winner will advance to the NCAA Division III Championships.