Matt Holmes went 3-2 at the IIAC Championships on Tuesday
Thu, Feb. 18, 2010 - [Wrestling]

The Loras College wrestling team wrapped up their 2009-10 season in Storm Lake, Iowa at the Iowa Conference championships on Tuesday. Ten Duhawks took to the mats in search of a bid to the NCAA Championships in Cedar Rapids.

Of the ten Duhawks in the tournament, there were two freshmen, four sophomores, and four juniors leading the charge for Randy Steward's squad. Half of the squad won at least two matches, but no Duhawks stayed in the championship bracket after the first round.

Seventh seeded Matt Holmes went 3-2 on the day. Holmes lost his first match 3-0 to the eventual champion at 141 pounds, #2 Kevin Donahue of Cornell. Holmes followed with a pin of the #8 seed and a convincing 10-3 decision over #6 Josh Atwell of Central. He lost a slim 6-4 decision to the #4 seed from Luther before winning the fifth place match over #5 Caleb Brus of Simpson, 9-6.

Jeremy Klein entered the tournament as the highest seeded Duhawk at #5 in the heavyweight division. The junior from Cooper City, Florida lost to the #4 seeded Chris Schiewe in his first match and followed with a pin 21 seconds into his bout with #8 Sam Collara of Simpson. Klein was pinned in the next round by #2 Mitch Sander and was back on the winning end of the pin in the fifth place match when he stopped #6 Wyatt Bauman of Cornell at 2:39 of the first period.

Other Duhawks with multiple wins were #9 Brendan Murphy at 133 pounds who finished sixth, #8 Mitch Gansen at 157 pounds who also finished sixth, and #7 Alex Grafft at 197 pounds who finished seventh.

Pat Pfantz and Jeremy Klein each reached 20 wins with their efforts at the IIAC tournament.

Mark Beatty and Mark Kapraun complete their four-year careers with the conclusion of the 2009-10 season as the two seniors on the roster.